2012 Literary/Art Contest theme announced

By · February 19, 2012 · Filed in 2012, Tournament · No Comments »

Birthday cake for Title IX“Title IX: How has it changed my world?”

Title IX is celebrating a birthday in 2012. Since it was passed as law in 1972, the opportunities for girls and women in education and athletics have soared. What impact have those opportunities had on you?

Learn more about Title IX! Visit the Starlings Title IX Resources Page.

LiteraryEssay (1,000 to 2,000 words) | Poetry (no limit on length)

Art: Painting, Drawing, Sculpture, Photography

Deadline:  Entries must be submitted by June 1, 2012.

Prizes:      $1,000 in cash (to be presented at Nationals)

The same theme, Title IX: How has it changed my world?” will apply to all age divisions. Below are the divisions according to grades. All written material must be emailed to the appropriate judge in Word format (please no designs, photos or colors). Include name, grade, Starlings team and club.

For details on where to send submissions, please view the contest guidelines (PDF).

Starlings coach does an Ironman

By · November 30, 2011 · Filed in Club News · No Comments »

Lacee is director and coach for us in San Francisco and her sister, Lindsay, coaches for us too. They are daughters, and ex-collegiate players, of my old friend and teammate, Danny Patterson.

Danny was founder of Paradise Bakery, which has sponsored most of our Arizona teams for many years.

Lacee shares the same determination and work ethic as her dad. Quite an accomplishment.


From: Lacee Phillips
Sent: Monday, November 28, 2011 10:36 PM
To: Byron Shewman
Subject: Hi!

Hi Byron!

Hope you’re doing well! It sounds, like always, that you have been busy. I thought of you because I just had my first “coaches meeting” for the start of the season. We hope to have 4 teams this year between San Francisco and Daly City. John Kast is the guy who sent you the email about getting in touch and he is great. He has more experience than I do with the logistics, so it will be great to have him on board.

On another note, I know my dad told you that I finished the AZ Ironman :) It has been quite the stretch as I’ve balanced teaching full time, training, and the family. There is nothing like the point in the run around mile 22 when you realize, ‘I AM going to finish’–it makes all the work with every minute. Anyway, my dad thought you might want a picture or two.

Looking forward to the start of another volleyball season :)

Happy belated Thanksgiving


Coaches Across America available

By · October 26, 2011 · Filed in Club News · No Comments »
This notice is to inform you that the Coach Across America’s 2012/13 Application for Coaches is now open to organizations. If you are interested in hosting coaches through ourCoach Across America (CAA) program to help build capacity at your organization at minimal costs through our National AmeriCorps grant, please complete the ONLINE application.

In 2011, CAA received $1 million from the Corporation for National and Community Service (CNCS) to train and place 250 coaches in Up2Us member organizations.  We will soon be applying for additional funding through CNCS. Therefore, this application will be used to include your organization in our 2012/13 grant request.

CAA is an AmeriCorps program launched by Up2Us to provide its member organizations with the resources and support to select and manage high quality sports-based youth development coaches to serve youth in our nation’s most vulnerable communities. CAA coaches are high school and college graduates who seek to use their passion for sports in a year of service.  In return for their service, CAA coaches receive a small living allowance and an education award that can be used to pay tuition or forgive student loans.  CAA contracts with Up2Us members to act as “Service Sites” for CAA coaches and helps them to recruit, supervise, train and evaluate coaches that serve in their respective programs.


If you are interested in hosting CAA coaches, please complete the coach request application at the below link by Tuesday, November 8th.




Please also reference the Service Site Match & Up2Us Contribution Structure 2012-13.pdf, found at this link: Service Site Match & Up2Us Contribution Structure 2012-13

This document is meant to help clarify the funding structure of the Up2Us contribution, your Service Site Match and the total benefits for coaches awarded through this application. Please use this document to help you determine the number of CAA coaches that your organization can support and manage.

Thank you.

In service,


Christina M. Williams Saulter

Program Director

Coach Across America


Update from our Kansas club

By · September 19, 2011 · Filed in Club News · No Comments »

Club update from Starlings Hoyt, Kansas:

… ready to start another club volleyball season with the first year Starling’s team member from last year which they will have to move up to 13 and under this season. Wanted to also let you know that a majority of last years Starling’s player also play together in the Royal Valley Middle School 7th grade team and are doing well with a record of 6-1. I have had so many parents comment on how have the opportunity to participate in club vball last year has made a world of difference in there attitude, skill level and competitiveness. The word had gotten around in this little rural town that I am getting emails from the near by city of Topeka parents that they want their daughters to try out for Starlings this up and coming season. I hope to add a 10 and 12 and under Starlings team but only time, funding and resources will tell.

From Melissa Tecumseh from Starlings Hoyt, Kansas